Time, time slipping, slipping, slipping away

Where do you suppose time goes?  Gone like a freight train, gone like yesterday.  It’s almost my 20th reunion and it’s freaking me out.  Remember when we were kids and Christmas seemed like a million years away, and Christmas Eve was the longest night of the entire year?  Now, it sometimes feels like I’m rolling downhill…you know, like over the hill and picking up speed.  I’ve finished my Christmas shopping for my kids, but it’s for everyone else that I’m worried about, and then the shipping and it’s too much. 

I wonder why I don’t feel like I’ve aged at all from high school on the inside, but the outside I’m looking more and more like my mother.  How can high school have been 20 years ago?  Our pastor said a few weeks ago that you look around and feel like everyone else has it all together, but they have “stuff” too.  Even so, why do I feel like I’m the only one on the planet that doesn’t have it all together? 

The answer to the question you may be wondering is that I’m probably not going to attend the reunion.  I couldn’t have gotten out of there fast enough and there were three people that made every day of my senior year miserable.  They were mean girls and probably grew up and made mean children.  I haven’t kept in touch with anyone and while I do get the occassional myspace from people, I have social anxiety and wouldn’t enjoy four hours of small talk with anyone,  let alone people I went to high school with. 

I am curious how everyone’s doing, but if we were life long friends, we’d still be friends, right?

1 Comment

  1. carikelley

    Amen! I went to my 10 year reunion but did NOT go to my 20. No, thank you.

    I always heard that the older you get the faster time seems to go…and that’s so true, but I don’t understand why.

    Why do we feel like we’re the only ones that doesn’t have it all together? Probably b/c you’re the only story that you know. Take a risk, find someone to tell you their REAL story (not the one they want people to think is true), share yours, and you’ll both feel better! It’s called ministry and it’s messy, but freeing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

